Zen on Easter Saturday

 

I went to the Passion of the Christ mass yesterday afternoon (the Good Friday mass), and there were reenactment of the time when Jesus was tortured and had his hands and feet nailed on the cross. During this time, hammer was knocked multiple times on the cross. The noise was cold, deep and heart-piercing. During the mass, I was also reminded of the Passion of the Christ movie that i watched. It was so gruesome and I cried so bad at the scene where He was whipped with the whip that has claws on it. The memory of the movie clip was so fresh in my head. At the end of the mass, we left the church in silence.

It is a yearly reminder for us Christians, that easter is not only about chocolates and hot cross buns, but it is also about reflections upon our actions, forgiveness, and reminder to live this life by loving our neighbours and ourselves. 🙂

As for the zen moments, I have always loved brunch with my loved ones and op-shopping. I had breakfast with Annette this morning at Fandango, in North Melbourne. We love the ambiance, as we were seated at the backyard where there were lots of greens and succulents. We were also surrounded by red bricks walls and sun shines through the transparent roof. It was a very nice experience for me, and I especially enjoy catching up with Annette and knowing that all went really well with her ever since the last time we caught up.

We tried the Curried Eggs with Chickpeas, and the Pancakes with pickled Strawberries. It was quite yummy.

12910982_10153541818072773_2137816838_n.jpg

After breakfast, we walked around the North Melbourne area (still chatting) and we passed this beautiful florist. It is unfortunate that I did not pay attention to the name of the florist. They sell flowers, unique green plants, candles and aromatherapy too. Annette was so nice to get a bouquet for me.

2016-03-26 12.05.44.jpg

We said our goodbye, and I was off to go home. I decided to go pass the market  to get some fruits in Preston Market. There was a place in the centre of the market where they have a lot of cute live-animals displayed, and kids are allowed to go in and pet them. All the animals were really cute, baby sheep, baby pig, guinea pigs, rabbits, roosters, goose, ducks,etc. It is such an innovative way to get the children to stay in touch with the nature. It is the first time I have seen it in the market!

2016-03-26 13.41.11-1I was walking back to my car when I passed the Salvation Army store. I love looking for bargain in an Op-shop and lucky me coz  I found a gem (yes, books!), it’s Malcolm Gladwell’s book called Blink for only $3.25 . YAY! I hope this book can be a useful addition of my self-help book collections. Do you have any recommendation on a good self improvement book?

In one of the Tedx Talk that I listened to last week, It was mentioned that it is important to remind ourselves that happiness comes from within, so even if there were no big events happen today we should always root our happiness to peaceful minds all day long.

I wish you all a peaceful and happy day, everyday 🙂

What are your Zen moments?

 

Love // Irene

<a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/14801187/?claim=earu5xspvb8″>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

 

 

Leave a Reply

